The Danish Government Introduces a New Coalition

Photo by the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Denmark has got a new coalition government consisting of Venstre (Denmark’s Liberal Party), Liberal Alliance, and the Conservatives. On November 28th the Danish Prime Minister, Lars Løkke Rasmussen, broadened his cabinet by introducing 22 new ministers from the three parties. Among the 22 new ministers are three new minsters in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Anders Samuelsen who serves as the Minster for Foreign Affairs, Ulla Tørnæs, who serves as the Minister for Development Cooperation, and Karen Ellemann, who serves as the Minister for Nordic Cooperation. The three parties claim to join forces on the foundation of a more free, rich, and equal Denmark. Since the election last year, Venstre has governed Denmark alone. Now, Venstre has 13 ministers in the new coalition while Liberal Alliance has six and the Conservatives have three.

For more information, please visit

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.